Share your voice on how taxpayer dollars are spent in your community by attending city council meetings, or by submitting your comment beforehand.

Be Heard!

The SLC Council determines the city budget. Share your voice on how taxpayer dollars are spent in your community by attending city council meetings, or by submitting your comment beforehand.

Often in the city council work meetings, they discuss proposed budget amendments, many of which include expansions to the police department. Since last summer, the council has submitted seven budget amendments increasing funding for the SLCPD. This is to increase police presence at protests, perform camp abatements, and provide more police equipment.

As a community, we can apply pressure to stop the expansion of policing!

Here’s how to speak up:

WHEN: Work sessions are most Tuesdays at 2 p.m., and formal meetings are most Tuesdays at 7 p.m. Work sessions are usually listen-only, where formal meetings have a public comment period. You can find the meeting schedule on the city’s website. You can also register to submit public comments, find your district representative, subscribe to meeting updates, and more at that link.

WHERE: Virtual meetings can be viewed via WebEx, Facebook, YouTube, and SLCTV Channel 17.

HOW: To participate and make a public comment, submit your questions via WebEx at least 24 hours before the formal meeting. To register, go to slc.gov/council, select the meeting date, and click on the event status link. Register to submit your comment.

You can also call or email the city any time to leave a comment. All comments related to the agenda will be added to the public record.

City Council Comments: council.comments@slcgov.com
24-hour Comment Phone Line: 801-535-7654

You can also reach out directly to the representative of your district to make an impact. As a constituent you have a right to tell your elected officials how they should prioritize the budget. Find out what district you are in by using this map. Here are the emails of each Salt Lake City council member:

District 1 James Rogers: james.rogers@slcgov.com
District 2 Andrew Johnston: andrew.johnston@slcgov.com
District 3 Chris Wharton: chris.warton@slcgov.com
District 4 Ana Valdemoros: ana.valdemoros@slcgov.com
District 5 Darin Mano: darin.mano@slcgov.com
District 6 Dan Dugan: dan.dugan@slcgov.com
District 7 Amy Fowler: amy.fowler@slcgov.com

The demand is still #DefundSLCPD! Watch out on our page for more updates on how to get involved